In order to submit expenses to your Corpay One account, you'll need to invite coworkers onto the platform. When you invite a coworker, however, you have the option to give them access to different features, permissions and responsibilities when it comes to managing your Corpay One processes. 

This article will summarize the four possible roles for your coworkers - Owner, Administrator, Contributor and Viewer - as well as outline the various permissions you can assign to coworkers. 

As an account owner or administrator in a company account, you can change a coworker's role and permissions by clicking on the three dots to the right of the coworker's name in Settings > Team:

In this view you can also select a primary department for the employee, which is relevant if the company account divides employees into departments.

Account Owner

If you create a company account, you will automatically be assigned as its Account Owner. This can be, for example, the company's bookkeeper or the company's CFO. The owner can have visibility into everything that's happening in the company account.

The ownership of a company's Corpay One account can be transferred by the owner to another employee by clicking on the three dots next to the employee you wish to transfer the ownership to, and then clicking Transfer account ownership

An account owner is the only coworker role that can delete the company account. This is done under Settings > Company Details.

An account owner has the following permissions that can be toggled on/off by administrators, or by the owner themself:

  • Documents submitted by [account owner] will require approval.

  • Can manually appoint approvers for any document.

An account owner has the following permissions, among others, which cannot be switched on/off:

  • They can always appoint one or more coworkers to approve an expense pending approval, regardless of which other coworkers are already appointed

  • They can change integration settings

  • They can edit account payment sources

  • They can set up and edit workflows

  • They can change subscriptions and components

  • They can invite coworkers to the company account (and remove them again)

  • They can access the vendor overview in Bill Pay > Vendors

Administrator:

An administrator has basically the same permissions as an owner, though they cannot delete the company account. Examples of administrators could be your company's accountant, CFO and/or department heads. 

An administrator has the following permissions that can be turned on/off by the owner and other administrators:

  • Bills from this coworker are submitted without approval, unless the coworker is part of a workflow

  • Can manually appoint approvers for any document

An administrator also has the following permissions automatically, which cannot be switched on/off:

  • They can submit bills

  • They can set up and edit workflows. 

  • They can add/change payment sources for the company account

  • They can change integration settings. 

  • They can change subscriptions and components.

  • They can invite coworkers to the company account (and remove them again).

  • They can assign other coworkers on the company account as bill approvers

  • They can access the vendor overview in Bill Pay > Vendors

Contributor

Contributors do not have as many permissions as Owners or Administrators. The main function of Contributors, as the name suggests, is to submit expenses to the company account. 

Examples of contributors could be: a department colleague who regularly has travel expenses to submit, or one who works with a vendor and submits payments to your accounting team on their behalf.

A contributor has the following permissions that can be turned on/off by the owner and administrators:

  • This coworker can only see documents submitted by themselves, or documents which they are appointed to approve

  • Bills from this coworker are submitted without approval, unless the coworker is part of a workflow

  • Can manually appoint approvers for any document

A contributor, unlike the account owner and administrators, cannot change the integration settings, edit the account's payment sources, or set up and edit rules. They also can't change the subscriptions or components, or invite or change the company account's coworkers.

Viewer

The Viewer's role is quite simple: they can only view documents that are submitted to the company account, and nothing else. 

Being a viewer is convenient if you, for instance, are the head of a department or team and want to keep track of your coworkers' spending without being responsible for approving or adding bills. For instance, you can also assign your accountant or bookkeeper as Viewers so they can keep an overview of your company's financials without the ability to add expenses.


Continue reading

Learn how to invite a co-worker to a company account here.

Did this answer your question?